Friday, September 5, 2014

FATAL REACTION - BY BELINDA FRISCH - IS A MUST READ!



Anything Belinda Frisch writes is sure to knock your socks off! Fatal Reaction is her latest novel. No one can top her when it comes to medical mysteries, and she is my favorite Zombie author. Get your fingers clicking away and buy this super book!


Blaze McRob

Book Description

November 3, 2013
Those trained to save lives might be the most skilled at taking them.

Paramedic Anneliese Ashmore's routine shift takes a startling turn when she answers the call she was never meant to hear—a call to a crime scene where her sister, Sydney, is the victim of an overdose suicide.

The evidence says otherwise.

In the midst of a heated divorce, motive implicates Sydney’s soon-to-be ex-husband. While the police focus on the single lead, Ana makes her own discovery.

A chain of e-mails between Sydney and her surgeon's office sets Ana on a search for answers about her sister's recent diagnosis and the life-altering treatment that saved her. The body count rises as Ana closes in on the truth and on the man of her dreams.

With the help of Dr. Jared Monroe, an unhappily married physician with a bit of a crush, Ana uncovers a ring of greed and corruption and exposes the fact that Sydney’s medical treatment may have been the catalyst for her murder.

Unfortunately for Ana, she may be next.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

**Runner-Up Halloween Book Festival 2012 and optioned for film, "Cure".
**Honorable Mention New York Book Festival 2014, "Better Left Buried".
**Amazon Top 100 Medical Thriller, "Fatal Reaction".

After fifteen years of working in healthcare, Belinda Frisch's stories can't help being medicine influenced. A writer of tales in the horror, mystery, and thriller genres, Belinda tells the stories she'd like to read. Her fiction has appeared in Shroud Magazine, Dabblestone Horror, and Tales of Zombie War. She is the author of "The Missing Year", "Better Left Buried", "Fatal Reaction", "Cure", and "Afterbirth", in addition to a number of short stories. She resides in upstate New York with her husband and a small menagerie of beloved animals.


5.0 out of 5 stars Do No Harm November 14, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A slow night shift takes a turn for the absolute worst when Paramedic Anneliese Ashmore happens upon the scene of her sister, Sydney's, apparent suicide. Sydney was strong, Sydney was a survivor. Ana knows in her heart that suicide is something her older sister would never contemplate. The crime scene seems perfect, too perfect, and Ana takes it upon herself to work outside the law and do her own investigation. As she delves deeper into the rabbit hole, she'll discover a trail of lies, deceit, and greed. Will she unravel the mystery of her sister's death, or die trying?

Fatal Reaction hits the ground running and doesn’t stop until the very end. Part medical mystery, part thriller, part amateur sleuth novel, it combines several genres and does it well, thanks to Frisch’s fast and succinct, yet descriptive style, and her ability to weave a complex and twisty plot without ever losing the reader. Every chapter has a purpose; every character has their part to play. There is no fat on this book, and it reads in such a way that the short chapters fly by. She makes you want to turn that page, she makes you want to find out the truth behind the mystery, she makes you want to see the characters’ reactions. It’s addictive in the best possible way, and has an almost cozy, small town feel to it that pulls you right into it.

Plot is nothing without well executed and interesting characters, and Fatal Reaction has a great cast. From the heroes to the villains, each person is fleshed out with their own back story, motivations, and voice. Even in scenes where there are many players, Frisch deftly handles them in a concise, natural, and realistic way. You’ll never be confused as to who is saying what, or what their intentions are, and despite a complex medicine-oriented plot (another thing handled very well thanks to the author’s fifteen years in the medical field), there is a high level of emotion in the characters and their unique stories, which makes them real, gives them dimension.

I can’t imagine this was an easy book to write. It’s filled with subplots, twists, and features intricate medical and forensic aspects, but it’s written in a fluid, easy to understand manner that is never watered down.

At the end of the day, Fatal Reaction is a character drama wrapped in a medical thriller, with a hint of romance to round out the package. From the beginning to the satisfying ending, this book isn’t short, but you may just find yourself taking it in all in one sitting.

Entertaining, and well executed, this is yet another book Belinda Frisch can be proud of, and will appeal to fans of Cook, Reichs, and the like. I flew through it and can’t recommend it highly enough.
 
 
 
Image of Belinda S. Frisch
**Runner-Up Halloween Book Festival 2012 and optioned for film, "Cure".
**Honorable Mention New York Book Festival 2014, "Better Left Buried".
**Amazon Top 100 Medical Thriller, "Fatal Reaction".
After fifteen years of working in healthcare, Belinda Frisch's stories can't help being medicine influenced. A writer of tales in the horror, mystery, and thriller genres, Belinda tells the stories she'd like to read. Her fiction has appeared in Shroud Magazine, Dabblestone Horror, and Tales of Zombie War. She is the author of "The Missing Year", "Better Left Buried", "Fatal Reaction", "Cure", and "Afterbirth", in addition to a number of short stories. She resides in upstate New York with her husband and a small menagerie of beloved animals.

No comments:

Post a Comment